New study suggests you should turn off your phone when on the road

A recent study found that even receiving notifications on your phone are distracting enough to result in errors.

Cellphones have become such an important part of our daily lives that as you’re reading this sentence, you’re probably getting an urge to check to see if you have any new messages or calls. Or, you may actually be reading this article on your phone.

While cellphones are a useful tool in most areas of our life, they can pose a significant danger when used at inappropriate times and can lead to dangerous car crashes. According to a new study, conducted by researchers at Florida State University, when an individual is behind the wheel, the safest bet may be to turn off the phone altogether.

States have enacted laws attempting to curb dangerous distracted driving behaviors, but the study revealed that even hearing a ding or buzz on your phone with a notification of a text message or missed call is enough to create a distraction. In fact, the study participants who received notifications on their phones were three times more likely to commit an error.

Consequently, the best way to avoid making a mistake when behind the wheel may be to turn off your phone altogether, to ensure you don’t receive any distracting notifications.

Follow Connecticut’s distracted driving laws

In every state, the laws regarding distracted driving behaviors are different. In Connecticut, we have some of the strictest laws in the country. Nevertheless, many people continue to drive while distracted by cellphones in our state. According to a study commissioned by the Department of Transportation, about 10 percent of people in Connecticut talk or text on their cellphones while behind the wheel. In all, that accounts for more than 11 million times each day in which a Connecticut motorist is driving while distracted.

In Connecticut, all drivers are banned from using a handheld cellphone or texting while behind the wheel. Connecticut law also prohibits bus drivers and novice drivers from using handheld and hands-free devices when driving. Novice drivers include anyone who has a learner’s permit or is under 18 years of age.

Talk to a personal injury attorney after a crash

When a distracted motorist causes a car accident, the consequences can be serious. The property damage and personal injuries suffered by other people involved in the crash are often significant.

If you have been the victim of a distracted driving crash in Connecticut, you should not bear the financial responsibility for the aftermath of the collision. Consider talking to a knowledgeable personal injury lawyer as soon as possible after the accident. A legal professional will work diligently on your behalf to make sure your interests are protected.